Out of necessity

I am making myself a schedule. A more scheduled schedule. The hardest part so far has been identifying a bed time and rising time. I know what it needs to be – I’m just scared of it.

But I think I have something.
One thing I cannot – for the life of me, understand, is how a working adult or student is supposed to get 8-10 hours of sleep each night. I’d have to go to bed at – I don’t know, 2000(8pm)?
My schedule currently has about 7 hours of sleep which will most likely turn out to be more like 5 – which, I know, from experience is disastrous (or a least very much not ideal). Should I fight for the 8 to 10 hours? Do you know how happy I would be if I got 8 hours of sleep each night?

I think I’m going to try. At least for 8. And I’m trying to get in at least 30 minutes of exercise every day.
I can just imagine how awesome I would feel if I was getting sleep and exercise and all of that. The question is – would I actually get more done? Would the time I take out to take care of myself pay off in more productive work/study time or would the taking-care-of-me routine eat at valuable work time and lower my gross product? Or maybe if I had better habits I could work better and more efficiently on average and recover faster from the occasions that I’d have to stay up late working/studying.

I am going to try it. 2 weeks – rigorous schedule keeping. Exercise, good food, adequate sleep. We’ll see how it works. That means I should end my blog now so that I can wrap my draft schedule up and go to bed.

The stock markets continue to dance to the wild tunes of I-don’t-know-who. I heard on NPR that yesterday’s massive market gains may have been due to a computer glitch, which explanation made more sense then the general “today stock’s fell as investors turned their attention back to the economy”. I find it hard to believe that the financial sector completely forgot about the economy for a day and feverishly bought back the stock they had just sold only to sell it off again with the same fervor 24 hours later (I am aware that the Fed made it’s announcement about interest rates yesterday, but that hardly seems to account for yesterday’s gains in light of today’s losses).

I heard a pre-campaign, anti-Obama add today about how much worse off we are since he’s been in office. In the clip that I heard, a disillusioned voter describes how she had voted for Obama because he was such a great speaker (?) but now we as a nation are in such a more dire situation than when he took office and she wasn’t voting for him again. I decided to check out what the Dow Jones Industrial Average could tell me about the past few years from the market’s perspective. I was actually a little surprised to find that the Dow has been steadily increasing over the past two years – in spite of the crazy ups and downs we’ve had over shorter periods of time.
Here’s a chart from Yahoo! Fiance. I found this on Google DJIA 2 year chart

Stopped by the lab for a little while today to help kids finish up their t-shirts. 😀 (Pictures will be forthcoming, but most likely on the TIE Project’s blog. I’ll post the link when it’s up and running.)
I am now a member of the International Fab Lab Association. 🙂 If you’re a FabLabber/Fab(ulous)Folk(sperson) (:P) – then join up: http://fablabinternational.org

Ambitionz

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

