Mosquito Ladies, Summer Reading, Murdoch and the BPS

My summer reading for Wentworth came today. 🙂 They assigned the Pulitzer Prize winner The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.
So far, I find the narrative style to be a bit brash, and the entirety of the first 7 pages (chapter 1) discuss a superstitious curse and how powerful and unavoidable it is. I’ve also started to wonder if epithets aren’t just a tad bit overused (and I’ve only been reading for less than 5 minutes). So far they aren’t as widely used as in A Million Little Pieces. I’m hoping for a great underlying structure and relevant points. I always feel a bit jaded when reading fiction as there are so many great stories that actually happened, but this one looks promising.
So far, so good. Here it is 🙂
Photobucket

My first Moleskine notebook. (No, I’m not sure what all the hype is over Moleskines but I got this one because I heard that they are good notebooks, it was on sale and I needed another pocket note receptacle. I love it so far.)

Photobucket

This is one of my other, self assigned summer readings (along with Campbell’s Biology, physics, chemistry, some literature, inventory lists and a yet unknown Calculus book).
Photobucket

The Boston Public Schools is planning to relocate two high schools. As the daughter of a Hyde Park BPS teacher, I disagree with this move (for reasons I don’t currently have the time to discuss). Click here to read the article

Today, I went to the clinic so my physician could sign some papers for school. The “mosquito ladies” took some of my blood 😦 I miss it.

Why is this Murdoch story dominating the news? The fact that you control the news does NOT make you news! And the whistle-blower is dead? Who could have predicted that? With much power comes much corruption.

The nice folks from Wentworth reopened the English test and called me, saying that I could take it any time in the next few days. It’s done 🙂

Ambitionz
Day 21
69 Dayz to go

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

