The eternal optimist

I have exactly 15 minutes to write today’s post if I am to post it before tomorrow (grr…time zones :-p ).

Big news: I got my acceptance letter from Wentworth Institute of Technology today! Bigger news is that I also got a $10,000 annual merit scholarship! Biggest news is that, starting in September, I will be a Biomedical Engineering major at WIT!

I’m am very excited and immensely grateful. This is truly an “in spite of” moment. In spite of everything that has happened this year, in spite of everything I didn’t know, in spite of the fact that the department was full – God is good.

The title of today’s post is from my father, quoting something the President said once: “I am the eternal optimist”. My father was very instrumental in making my application successful, and that has been his attitude throughout. He’s a “the glass is half full” kind of guy and he encouraged me to keep working on it, put my best forwards, and keep trying even after we were told that the department was full.

I’m thankful for my mom and Amon for helping me craft my application, and to all of my recommenders, supporters and friends who have been there when I wasn’t. I’m also thankful for my brother and their enthusiasm regarding me getting into school so one of them can have my room (which isn’t happening by the way 🙂 )

I want to mention my lil’ brother and one of my best friends, Jemuel since today is his birthday. “Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you…happy birthday to youuuuuu – happy birthday to you!!)

Big day.

Ambitionz
Day 2, 88 days to go

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

